Mesalands Community College Commencement Ceremony 2018

Natalie Gillard, Interim President and Vice President of Academic Affairs at Mesalands, addresses the audience at Friday’s commencement ceremony.

May 15, 2018

Mesalands Community College held their commencement ceremony last Friday, May 11, 2018 at the Tucumcari High School Auditorium. The 2018 graduating class represented 101 certificates and degrees and 13 high school equivalency diplomas. The graduating class also included 13 high school students, who graduated from college prior to obtaining their high school diplomas.

“It is indeed an evening of honor and celebration. We honor the graduates for the accomplishments they have achieved,” said Natalie Gillard, Interim President and Vice President of Academic Affairs at Mesalands Community College. “As a special note, today’s exercises are dedicated to, and in honor of Mr. J. Bronson Moore, Mesalands Community College Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Mr. Moore was deeply admired by the campus community and we are grateful for his service.”

Nasha Ynez Torrez, Dean of Students for the University of New Mexico, delivers the commencement address.

Moore served as a member of the Board of Trustees from 2002 to 2007, and as a Chair from 2007 to 2018. During commencement, a chair on the dais was draped with Moore’s regalia, medallion, and a white rose, in honor of his service.

Nasha Ynez Torrez, Dean of Students for the University of New

Mexico in Albuquerque, NM delivered the commencement address. Torrez encouraged the graduates to pay it forward, as they continue on their road to success.

“As we celebrate this rite of passage, it may be hard to believe that the most important part was the road that brought you here, not the diploma that you received today,” said Torrez. “Your journey doesn’t end today. I challenge you as the gate keepers, to recognize the times in each day, of which you could help another person on their path to success. Enjoy the trip and don’t travel alone. Congratulations class of 2018!”

During the recessional, graduates greet the administrators, guest speakers, and members of the Board of Trustees.

In honor of J. Bronson Moore, Chair of the Mesalands Board of Trustees, a chair on the dais was draped with Moore’s graduation regalia, medallion, and a rose. The following members of the Board of Trustees were in attendance: (left to right) James Streetman, Vice Chair; Liz Estrada, Secretary/Clerk; and Jimmy Sandoval, Member.



Mesalands Community College Graduating Class of 2018

High School Equivalency Diploma

Halima Evans Catherine Rivera
Emory Gates Riley Severide
Amber Gutierrez Amber Siebrasse
Jonna Gonzales Morgan Southard
Casper Hank Terrell Davis
Karston Manley Kyle Trujillo
Jennifer Marquez  

Occupational Certificate

Esteban Aguirre Christopher Hoover
Juan Aguirre Christian Ivarbol
Aaron P. Barnes Heather Karr
Bethany Bishop Dane LaCount
Lindsay Blackmer Kyle Lopez
Brittni Brockman Jeri Anne Mares
Morgan Brown Amanda McAulay
Jose Campos Steven J. McClure
JW Carmichael Alejandro Mendoza
Antonio Carreon Roberto Mendoza
Dylan Carrillo Trace Norton
Victoriana Chavarria Jessa Jade Paddock
Daniel Chavez Connie B. Payne
Genae Cone Constance Payne
Brian Cox Carlos Castillo Peña
Romy Diaz Moises Reyes
Chase Dudley Emmanuel Rodriguez
Nidia Elebario Julianna Sanchez
Shauna Fuller Alyssa Sena
Dylan Germaine Sheena Taylor
Nassir Hadjour Perla Villegas+
Jennie Lyn Hall Daniel E. Woiski
Cristal Hernandez Kathryn Worthen
Joseph Hibbard

Applied Science Certificate

Roberto Mendoza Brandon Smith+
Caleb Pope

Liberal Arts Certificate

Cristal Madrid Leslee A. Nunez

Associate of Arts Degree

Heather Colleen Aragon Daniel Holguin-Caldera***+
Angelina Marie Arellano** Sonnett Jackson
Ashle Brown Elicia Jimenez*
Desiree Nicole Brown* Kamelia Morgan Lamm***
Steven Carmona Heaven Lopez
Kyeli Lanie Collins***+ Chantyl Lujan**
Seth J. Gale* David A. Mardo III**
Sydney Goldston*** Eva M. Sawyer*
Josue Grajeda Kaylee Swapp**
Barbara J. Griego Allyssa Mishay Zukevich*
Willis Jack Hendrickson III

Associate Applied Science Degree

Nathaniel Q. Alexander Steven J. McClure
Scott Bevins* Lowen Munsell**
Deonte L. Blalock Leslee A. Nunez
Kevin Blea Laverne Sanderson***
Destiny A. Bolin* Sidney Sena
Aleahna R. Branch Kenneth Sims
A’Lia Oaklie Derrick Samantha Jae Stephenson*
David D. Dodd** Arthur Tixier
Dennis Earle Noah A. Torres**
Pete J. Estrada* Maribel Villa*
Marshall Graham** Steven Witterman*
Linda Gutierrez


***Summa Cum Laude (GPA 3.80 or higher)

**Magna Cum Laude (GPA 3.50 – 3.79)

*Cum Laude (GPA 3.25 – 3.49)

+Member Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Veteran or Active Military

  • New Mexico All-Academic Team