Mesalands recognizes student leaders

September 30, 2013

New members of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society at Mesalands: (Right to Left) Devren Meyers, Shayna Roberts, Justin Nicovich, Alfred McIntosh, Charles Stines, Rhea Jaynes, Jason Witterman, Victoria Harb, Adam Okoye (current member). Not in photo: Scott Day, Fidelia Griego, and Tonie Martinez

Mesalands Community College recently inducted eleven new members to the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society last week in a ceremony on campus. Phi Theta Kappa is based on academic achievement and offers personal development through scholarship, service, fellowship, and leadership.

Each candidate for membership in Phi Theta Kappa must have completed 12 semester hours that may lead to a declared Associate’s degree with a grade point average of a 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, be currently enrolled in six credit hours, and adhere to the school code. A cumulative grade point average of 3.0 must be maintained to remain in good standing.

“There are a lot of opportunities for Phi Theta Kappa students to excel in community service, leadership, and scholarship opportunities,” said Beth Sisneros, Phi Theta Kappa Advisor at Mesalands.

Sisneros said she has been a member of Phi Theta Kappa since 1998 and understands the distinguished honor of being part of this organization.

Caption. Shayna Roberts accepts her certificate of membership into Phi Theta Kappa from Joyce Garrett (right) and Beth Sisneros (middle), Phi Theta Kappa Advisor

Sisneros said that last year Phi Theta Kappa members at Mesalands assisted with the following events: Get Moving Quay County Fun/Run, Altrusa Cash Party, Donor Appreciation Dinner at the College, and with other student and community events at Mesalands.

“Members of Phi Theta Kappa represent student success, leadership, and service. On behalf of Mesalands Community College, I congratulate these students for their academic achievements and we look forward to great things from them in the future,” said Dr. Thomas W. Newsom, President of Mesalands.




Mesalands Community College’s new inductees in Phi Theta Kappa:

Fall 2013 Inductees

Scott Day

Fidelia Griego

Victoria Harb

Rhea Jaynes

Justin Nicovich

Devren Meyers

Alfred McIntosh

Tonie Martinez

Renee Rice

Shayna Roberts

Charles Stines

Jason Witterman