College recognizes outstanding staff and faculty

August 21, 2012

Mesalands Community College recently awarded the College’s first Faculty of the Year and Staff of the Year awards during Convocation. The College is pleased to announce that Janet Griffiths, Pre-Collegiate and Early Childhood Education Faculty, is the 2011-2012 Faculty of the Year and Beth Sisneros, Director of Educational Services Center, is the 2011-2012 Staff of the Year. These awards recognize their continued dedication to the success of our students.

Janet Griffiths, Pre-Colligate Faculty, accepts the award for Faculty of the year from President Dr. Mildred Lovato.

Griffiths started as an Adjunct Instructor and has been with the College since 2004 as full-time faculty.  She teaches Education and Pre-Colligate courses and is the lead faculty for the Early Childhood Education plan of study. She is a member of three Mesalands committees, the Assessment Committee, Scholarship Committee, and the Committee on Strategic Initiatives (CSI), and she steps in to help other departments as needed. She was instrumental in making Mesalands students eligible to receive the TEACH Early Childhood Scholarship. The TEACH Scholarship provides financial support for tuition and books for early childhood teachers. Griffiths brings professionalism and experience to the classroom and to the field of education. She is also active in her community as a member of the Center Street United Methodist Church, a member of the Quay County Health Council and the Treasurer of the Quay County Fair Board.

Sisneros has been with the College since 2002 and started as the Title V Program Director and supervised the Success Center. As the Program Director she was in charge of tutoring school aged children. After receiving her Associate’s Degree she accepted the position of Educational Services Center Facilitator where she prepares students for the General Educational Development (GED) and provides tutoring. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor’s Degree from Franklin University. Sisneros was recently promoted to the Director of Educational Services Center. She is a Mesalands Foundation Inc. Board Member and is on the Dan C. Trigg Hospital Board. Sisneros has also been instrumental in fundraising for the College and coordinating the Shrimp Boil Fundraiser. She is the Co-coordinator for the Cinco de Mayo celebration and the Advisor for the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society. She has assisted many students in achieving a place on the All-State Academic Team representing the State of New Mexico.

(Center Left) Beth Sisneros, Director of Educational Services Center accepts the award for Staff of the Year from (Left) Dr. Mildred Lovato, President; Natalie Gillard, Vice President of Academic Affairs; and Dr. Aaron Kennedy, Vice President of Student Services at Mesalands.

The College also awarded Above and Beyond awards to staff and faculty for their outstanding service and dedication to the growth of Mesalands and to the advancement of our students. Recipients of this honor included: Pete Borquez, Custodian; Connie Chavez, Executive Assistant to the President; Rose Chavez, Retention Specialist; Tom Morris, Coordinator of the Health and Wellness Facility; and Alex Villanueva, Interim Business Manager.

“We are very proud of the accomplishments of both Beth and Janet and everything that they do for our College and in helping our students,” Dr. Mildred P. Lovato, President of Mesalands said. “I want to congratulate all of our award recipients for always going above and beyond in their areas and assisting others to ensure that our institution is doing its best in serving our students and our community.”